What seven AP courses and 23 dual enrollment credits did for an Ivy application
On this page
From FastTrack's own files, first published in the firm's 2025-26 Parent's Guide to Dual Enrollment. The student's name is changed; the outcomes are as recorded.
Arjun paired seven AP courses at his own high school with 23 dual enrollment credits at a flagship state university, and used the campus to reach research and internship work his high school could not offer. He was admitted to an Ivy, which then accepted fewer than 50% of those credits. His family still counts the dual enrollment as the reason the application, the admission, and the scholarship outcomes went the way they did.
Situation
Arjun is described in the record as a self-starter, and the plan reads like one. He was already taking the hardest courses his high school ran, seven of them at AP level, and he went looking for the next thing on a college campus.
The flagship state university where he took his college courses and the Ivy that admitted him are both withheld here, along with the state. The guide this study comes from changed his name to protect him, and with two institutions this specific, naming either would put the name back.
Goal
Two things at once, which is what makes this study different from the cheapest-degree version of the same question. He wanted to show a selective admissions office that he could carry college work, and he wanted depth in his subject beyond the ceiling of his own school.
Neither of those goals is about the price of a credit hour. That matters for how the result should be read.
Colleges considered
- A flagship state university
- Where the 23 dual enrollment credits were earned, and the reason the plan worked as more than a transcript. A flagship campus runs research groups and has an internship pipeline, and a dual enrollment student is on that campus with an ID. The record says he identified and accessed both. The institution is not named in the guide and is not named here.
- An Ivy League university
- Where he was admitted, and which accepted fewer than 50% of his credits. Selective private universities set their own transfer rules and are the least likely destination to take college credit earned in high school at face value. The guide names neither the university nor which credits it kept.
Credits reviewed
Twenty-three dual enrollment credits and seven AP courses, which is as far as the record goes. There are no course names, no subjects, and no terms in it, and there is no credit count on the AP side, so the table gives the two figures the guide gives and marks the rest as not stated.
| Term | Course | Credits |
|---|---|---|
| Across high school | Seven AP courses at his own high school | Not stated |
| Across high school | Dual enrollment coursework at a flagship state university | 23 |
| Total | Dual enrollment credits | 23 |
The problem
A student who has already taken everything hard his school offers has a real problem and an invisible one. The real problem is depth: seven AP courses cover seven subjects at the level a high school can teach, and none of them go further than that.
The invisible problem is that an admissions office reading a strong high school transcript is being asked to predict something it cannot see. Every applicant in that pile has taken the hardest courses available. Nothing on the page says what happens when the same student sits in a lecture hall with people four years older and a professor who does not take attendance.
The third problem is the one that shows up after the acceptance letter. A selective private university is under no obligation to take credits earned before enrolment, and Arjun's took fewer than half of his. A family that treats dual enrollment at a flagship as prepaid tuition at an Ivy is going to be disappointed, and the disappointment is predictable enough to plan around.
Our analysis
The credits in this plan did two separate jobs, and separating them is the whole of the advice. As advanced standing they underperformed: fewer than half survived the move. As evidence they did exactly what they were bought for, because a transcript from a flagship state university answers the readiness question that an AP score cannot.
An AP score and a college grade are different kinds of claim. The AP exam says a student passed a standardised test in May. A college transcript says a student enrolled alongside adults, met a professor's deadlines across a whole term, and was graded by the same rules as everyone else in the room. When the question is whether an applicant can do university work, the second is the stronger answer, and this student brought both.
The part of this plan that is hardest to copy is the campus access. Research groups and internships sit on a university campus and are largely closed to a high school student who has no reason to be there. Dual enrollment gave him the reason, and he went and used it. That is the piece his family points at, and it is the piece a family reading this should ask about before they choose where the credits get earned.
We tell families aiming at selective admissions to buy dual enrollment for the evidence and treat any credit that transfers as a rebate. That framing survives an admissions office that keeps eleven of twenty-three credits. The opposite framing does not.
The path
- Seven AP courses at his own high school, which kept the high school transcript at the top of what it could show.
- Twenty-three dual enrollment credits at a flagship state university, chosen for subject depth rather than for credit volume.
- Research opportunities on that campus, identified and then used, which a high school student has no route to without a reason to be there.
- Internship resources on the same campus, used the same way.
- An application that could point at college work rather than describe a willingness to do it.
The outcome
Arjun was admitted to an Ivy League university. It accepted fewer than 50% of his dual enrollment credits, which is the ordinary result at a selective private and the number a family should expect rather than the one a brochure quotes.
His family attributes his stronger application, his admission, and his scholarship outcomes to the depth of his dual enrollment participation. That is their reading of their own case and it is recorded here as theirs. No admissions office publishes the counterfactual, and nobody, including us, can tell a family what the same student would have been offered without the college coursework.
Savings
The guide gives no dollar figure for this student. It gives one range for the three students it carries together: across the three families, between $10,000 and $30,000 in tuition costs avoided. It does not break the range down, so no share of it is claimed here for Arjun.
What can be said about his costs is the shape of them. Fewer than half of 23 credits survived the transfer, so whatever the credits were worth as tuition at the Ivy, more than half of that value went away at the door. The scholarship outcomes his family credits to the plan are not priced in the record either.
For a family running this comparison at home, the honest arithmetic is: price the courses, assume the selective destination takes half the credits or fewer, and decide whether the admissions evidence and the campus access are worth the rest. If the answer is only worth it at full credit transfer, the plan is aimed at the wrong destination.
Lessons
- Dual enrollment and AP are not a choice a strong student has to make. The AP slate holds the high school transcript at its ceiling and the college transcript answers a question the AP slate cannot.
- A selective private university is the destination least likely to take the credits. Plan the value around admissions evidence and campus access, and count any transferred credit as a bonus.
- Where the credits are earned changes what else comes with them. A flagship campus has research groups and internship pipelines that a dual enrollment ID gets a student close to, and an online section has none of that.
- Access is not the same as attendance. The record says he identified and accessed the research and internship resources, which is the work that turned an enrolment into a reason for an admissions office to look twice.
- A family's own attribution is worth recording and is not proof. What a plan caused is never visible from inside a single case.
Sources
- FastTrack Advising's Parent's Guide to Dual Enrollment, 2025-26 · The case studies section of the firm's own published parent guide, which states that all stories and outcomes are from real students and that names have been changed to protect confidentiality. The guide has no public URL; this citation points at the firm that wrote it.
Rules change. These were checked September 2026. Confirm the current version with your school before you act on any of it.
Outcomes vary. What a plan is worth depends on the state, the college, the major, and the student, and every figure here belongs to this example rather than to your teen. FastTrack's services do not include help with college applications after high school.
The same work, for your teen
Every roadmap starts from three careers and works back to the courses, against the colleges a family names. Read how the four stations work, see the full sample roadmap, or tell us about your teen.