Dual credit in Texas, explained for parents

Save to My FastTrack

On this page

Texas dual credit, the state's name for dual enrollment, costs $0 in tuition at most of the large community colleges for students in their area and up to a few hundred dollars a course at others. Students who had free or reduced-price lunch this year or in any of the four before it pay nothing at FAST colleges, and those colleges cannot charge any public or charter school student more than $60.10 a credit hour in tuition in 2026–27.

Who
High school students a participating college admits; state rules set no minimum grade
Cost of one course
$0 at most large community colleges; up to $381 at others
FAST
$0 for tuition, fees, and books with free or reduced-price lunch this year or in the four before it
Tuition cap
$60.10 a credit hour in 2026–27 at FAST colleges, for every public and charter school student
Testing
No TSI needed while a student is not seeking a degree
Students
276,064 in fall 2025
Runs through
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board and the Texas Education Agency

What does a dual credit class cost in Texas?

Each college sets its dual credit tuition and each school district decides how much of it to cover, so the same course can cost nothing in one district and a few hundred dollars in the next county. Among the thirteen large colleges below, a student in the college's area pays $0 in tuition at eight, and between about $60 and $200 for a three-credit course at the other five. Collin College, the one large district outside FAST, charges $381 to a student from outside Collin County.

Books and fees are the second number. Some districts and colleges cover them, as South Texas College's partner districts do with textbooks, and some leave them to the family, as Lone Star does for students outside FAST. Ask about both before calling a course free.

Who pays is written down. Every dual credit agreement between a district and a college has to state how tuition, transportation, fees, and textbooks are paid for, and both sides have to post it on their websites every year. The district is not required to pay tuition itself, so that agreement is where you find out whether yours does.

What one three-credit dual credit course costs a Texas public school family at thirteen large colleges, from each college's own pages, read September 2026. Students who qualify for FAST pay $0 at every college here except Collin.
CollegeTuition for one 3-credit courseBooks and feesRate year
Austin Community College $0 in ACC's service area, up to 60 credit hoursMaterial fees possible; waived with free or reduced lunchNot dated
Dallas College $0 for public and charter school studentsLearning materials billed to the district, $23 a credit2025–26
Houston City College $0 inside the taxing district; out-of-district fees outside itStudent buys booksNot dated
Lone Star College $129 ($43 a credit)Student buys books; free for FAST students where the district joinedFall 2025
Alamo Colleges $0 tuition and fees for partner districtsVaries by college; ask who buys booksNot dated
Tarrant County College $0 where the school has a TCC agreementFree with free or reduced lunch in the last four yearsNot dated
San Jacinto College About $62 in district, $108 outside it (75 percent exemption)Student buys materials; the high school pays for FAST students2026–27
Collin College (not in FAST) $201 in Collin County; $381 outside itLab and e-book fees possible2025–26
South Texas College $0 for partner-district studentsDistrict supplies textbooks2025–26
El Paso Community College $0, per the collegeNot statedNot dated
Texas State Technical College $99 ($33 a credit)District may pay part or allNot dated
Blinn College $175.56 ($58.52 a credit) outside FASTOptional textbook program2025–26
Del Mar College $0 for public and charter school studentsNot statedNot dated

What does FAST cover, and who qualifies?

FAST, short for Financial Aid for Swift Transfer, makes dual credit free for a student who was eligible for free or reduced-price lunch in the current school year or in any of the four before it. A college in FAST cannot charge that student anything for a dual credit course: no tuition, no fees, and no books, supplies, or other required materials. The state pays the college $60.10 per credit hour for the student instead in 2026–27.

It covers 9th through 12th graders in public and charter schools. In 2025–26, 73 colleges and universities took part, including 48 of the state's 50 community college districts; the two that did not were Collin College and Wharton County Junior College. Confirm the college your teen would attend is on the current list before counting on it.

Timing can cost a family the benefit. The student's eligibility has to be certified before the college's census date for the term, the official enrollment count early in the semester, or the student is not covered for that term. If your teen qualified for lunch at any point in the last five years, raise it with the counselor before registration.

Does FAST lower the price for families who don't qualify?

Yes, for tuition. A college can join FAST only if it charges every dual credit student from a Texas public or charter school no more than the FAST rate in tuition: $58.52 a credit hour in 2025–26 and $60.10 in 2026–27, which comes to $180.30 for a three-credit course. Any college in the program may charge less, and many charge nothing.

The cap stops at tuition. Fees and books can still be billed to a student outside FAST, and the cap does not reach private school or home school students, whom a college can charge its own rate.

Who can take dual credit, and starting when?

Dual credit is big in Texas: 276,064 high school students took it in fall 2025, up from 218,825 two years earlier. State law bars the Coordinating Board from limiting how many dual credit courses a student takes, in total or per term, and from limiting the grades that can enroll. Colleges set their own rules inside that. Houston City College takes students from 9th grade, and Tarrant County College caps the load at 15 credit hours a term.

The district also has to approve each course for high school credit, and a dual credit course has to be a core curriculum, career and technical, or foreign language course, early college programs aside. So eligibility is two approvals, and the counselor holds one of them.

Private school and home school students can take dual credit too. The FAST tuition cap does not apply to them, so the college's own rate does.

Does your teen need to pass the TSI?

Not to start, in most cases. Under the Coordinating Board's rules, a high school student who is not seeking a degree does not have to meet the Texas Success Initiative standard to take dual credit, and a college may not require it. A student can also qualify as exempt through ACT, SAT, or STAAR scores, or by passing the TSI Assessment.

The test comes back in two ways. A specific course, most often college math or English, can carry a readiness prerequisite that applies to every student in it. And once a dual credit student has earned 15 credit hours, state law requires a degree plan within two terms, and a student with a degree plan counts as seeking a degree. We ask Texas families to schedule the TSI in 10th grade so a score exists before either one arrives.

A student is exempt in reading and writing with 40 on ACT English and reading combined, 480 on SAT reading and writing, or 4000 on the STAAR English III exam, and in math with 22 on ACT math, 530 on SAT math, or 4000 on STAAR Algebra II. Passing TSIA2 scores are 950 in math and 945 in English with an essay score of 5. The PSAT and ACT Aspire stopped counting in May 2024.

Texas pays for one college readiness test, which can be the TSI, in the spring of 11th grade or in 12th grade. Before then the fee is the college's call; Lone Star, for one, waives the first attempt for dual credit students.

The Coordinating Board proposed new eligibility rules in August 2026. If adopted, they would apply from fall 2027 and would replace the not-seeking-a-degree route with a list of qualifying scores that adds the PSAT, the PreACT, and the STAAR English II and Algebra I exams.

What about early college high schools and P-TECH?

They are dual credit built into the school. An early college high school lets students earn a high school diploma and up to an associate degree at the same time, and state rules bar charging its students for tuition, fees, or required textbooks. P-TECH programs pair high school and college courses with an employer partner and must be free by statute. Texas had 236 early college high school campuses operating or planning in 2025–26, and 45 percent of their class of 2024 graduated with an associate degree.

Early college high schools are open enrollment and built for students least likely to go to college, as well as students who want to move faster, so ask the district which campuses it runs and how students get in.

How does your teen apply?

Through the high school first, then the college. The counselor confirms that each course counts toward graduation and handles the district paperwork, and the college admits the student under its dual credit rules. Many Texas colleges take the dual credit application through ApplyTexas, the state common application; Houston City College, for one, runs its dual credit deadlines through it. The college sets the application date for each term, and it usually falls well before the high school schedule is final.

What the core curriculum carries

Within Texas public colleges and universities, dual credit in the state core curriculum transfers well by law. A student who completes the whole core at one public institution carries it as a block that the next public institution must accept in place of its own core, and a partial core transfers course by course. Courses carry common numbers across the public colleges, which is what makes the matching work.

Out of state and at private universities the core carries no weight, and the receiving college reviews each course on its own, so look the target college up before choosing courses.

Questions to ask your counselor

Bring these to the first meeting. The answers decide most of the plan.

  • Where is our district's dual credit agreement posted, and what does it say about tuition, fees, books, and transportation?
  • Is the college in the FAST program, and does my teen's lunch eligibility in any of the last five years qualify them?
  • Which courses need a TSI, ACT, SAT, or STAAR score before registration, and when should my teen test?
  • Which of the available courses sit in the state core curriculum?
  • Are dual credit courses here taught at the high school or on the college campus, and by whom?
  • Does the district run an early college high school or P-TECH program, and how do students get in?

Frequently asked

How much does a dual credit class cost in Texas?

$0 in tuition at most large community colleges for students in their area, and about $60 to $200 for a three-credit course at others. Collin College charges $381 to students from outside Collin County. Students who qualify for FAST pay nothing at participating colleges, books included.

Is dual credit free in Texas?

Often, though not everywhere. Each college sets its rate and each district decides what to cover. Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch this year or in any of the past four pay nothing at FAST colleges, and those colleges cap tuition for every public and charter school student at the FAST rate.

Do you have to pay for dual credit in high school in Texas?

Sometimes. The district is not required to pay tuition, but many do, and the district's dual credit agreement, which it must post on its website each year, says who pays for tuition, fees, books, and transportation.

What is the FAST program in Texas?

Financial Aid for Swift Transfer. The state pays participating colleges $60.10 per credit hour in 2026–27 so that students with free or reduced-price lunch eligibility take dual credit at no cost for tuition, fees, or books, and those colleges cannot charge any public or charter school dual credit student more than that rate in tuition.

Do you need to pass the TSI for dual credit in Texas?

Not while a student is not seeking a degree. Specific courses can still require readiness scores, and after 15 credit hours a student must file a degree plan, which brings the TSI requirement back. ACT, SAT, and STAAR scores can exempt a student.

What grade can you start dual credit in Texas?

State rules set no minimum grade, and FAST covers grades 9 through 12. Each college sets its own rule, and some large ones, Houston City College among them, take students from 9th grade.

Is there a limit on how many dual credit classes you can take in Texas?

Not from the state. Since 2015, state rules cannot cap dual credit courses or hours, in total or per term. Colleges can, and some do: Tarrant County College allows 15 credit hours a term.

Is early college high school free in Texas?

Yes. State rules bar charging early college high school students for tuition, fees, or required textbooks, and P-TECH programs must be free by statute.

Sources

Rules change. These were checked September 2026. Confirm the current version with your school before you act on any of it.

Planning Dual credit for your teen?

Save this page and the state's deadlines show up on your own My FastTrack page, next to the tools. The law page saves separately, for the day a school gives an answer that does not match the statute. Which courses to take, in which order, so the credits still count at the college your teen ends up at, is the part we do with families.

Save to My FastTrack